Selling your car in Korea- all you need to know.

It’s all well and good to find a buyer for your car, but where do you actually go to transfer ownership and so on? That’s what I asked also. After some research, I found that if you live in Goyang (like me), you go to the Goyang Car Registration centre, here.

What this website doesn’t tell you is what you actually need going along with you. First, you need to visit the centre with the person you’re selling to.

The seller needs;

  • Alien Registration Card
  • Registration of the vehicle. You got this with the car.

The buyer needs;

  • Proof of insurance for the car.
  • Alien Registration Card.

In Goyang, there is not one word of English to help you on your way. So, just do your best at the information desk and the lady should present you with these two documents;

11798375_10153005069438016_326090126_n 11787328_10153005069013016_1677186514_n

Fill them out ( yes, they’re in Korean). I think one is a sale document and one is transfer of ownership.  Top section is the sellers information and the bottom is buyer’s information. Then there’s a bit about the car information.

Then get 3,000won and walk to the bank and get this;

11720583_10153005068818016_429922831_nTake a number and wait your turn.

When you get seen to, they will check the car for outstanding fines. Unfortunately for me I had a few. You MUST pay them before you can proceed.

When everything is clear, you simply show these documents and the ones listed above and it’s done. The new owner will get a new registration form that has the car in their name.

I recommend you bring a Korean speaker with you in case you have fines to pay. We had to call so many people to find out how much the fines were and the bank account to pay the money into. Nobody at these places spoke English.

I also recommend you get the number the second you walk in the door. We originally had number 75 and they were only on 43 or something like that. Fortunately, some old guy gave us his number because we were foreign.

You need to check where to do this in your area. My coteacher told me it was city hall and when we called them they said that Goyang had its own car centre. Other areas like Seoul may have different places so be sure to get someone to call and find out.

Overall, after the fines were paid, the whole thing was really easy. If you have any questions, just let me know!

8 thoughts on “Selling your car in Korea- all you need to know.

  1. I have left Korea and didn’t have time to sell my car is there any way I can still sell the vehicle or transfer it to someones else name??

  2. Hello!

    Thanks for the great info! Recently I have been thinking of selling my car here in Korea, however after reading through your article I wonder if I too have unknown fines I need to pay. Would you mind saying what types of fines they were and around how much it came out to be?

    Thanks,

    • Sure! So there were 2 parking fines that I never received notice of. And the others were tax of the car. I put these ones down to me being foreign because I literally had no idea how to pay them. Once you go to the place for the paper work, they tell you if there is anything outstanding.

Leave a Reply

