An afternoon around Shanghai

sh2Last weekend, I found myself in Shanghai to play in a football tournament. Arriving Friday afternoon, I just had a few hours to dedicate to tourism.  Since I was staying in the Jing’An Temple area, I first headed to People’s square.

This area, once a racecourse, is now home to Shanghai Museum, Shanghai Urban planning and exhibition hall and the grand theater. While these were all great to see, the square was all about the people. People were sitting out on their work breaks, some were waiting for their friends, some were meditating, feeding the birds giving it a great vibe.

sh1

sh5

 

sh4sh6

sh7

sh8

After the square, the original plan was to walk through East Nanjing Road, a shopping street, to the Bund. However, I got completely distracted when I saw the Bund in the distance and just walked in that general direction. Although this method took me through some side streets and had the locals looking at me funny, it made for a true Shanghai experience.

sh10

sh11

sh13

Finally, I made it to the Bund……..

wpid-20140530_165602_pano2.jpg.jpeg

wpid-20140530_165602_pano.jpg

This whole area features beautiful architecture and the boardwalk is the perfect place to relax and see the area at your leisure.

sh14

sh15

I did manage to find Nanjing Road on the way back…..

sh16

Feeling a bit hungry, I followed some locals into this food alley and using charades, bought a delicious vegetable pancake…

sh17

sh18

East Nanjing Road had so many stores, this would be a day trip in itself

sh20

sh21

My final destination before leaving was the area around my hotel. This is the Jing’An temple area. It looks great during the day but is at it’s best at night.

wpid-20140531_195655.jpg

wpid-20140531_195909.jpg

wpid-20140531_195839.jpg

wpid-20140531_200145.jpg

Leave a Reply

