My Ireland bucketlist

It’s been almost 3 years since I’ve been home in Ireland.  Now, I have a week in Ireland to do everything.So I made a list,

  • Eat potatoes with a good lashing of creamery butter everyday
  • Eat Mammy Brownes brown bread and possibly learn to actually make it.
  • Eat anything else that Mammy Browne made, apple tart, buns, scones, anything and everything.
  • For snacks eat Taytos, Cadburys, Roses and anything else that may be lying around the house.
  • For an additional snack, eat some proper cheese.
  • Drink Lucozade like it’s going out of fashion.
  • Learn at least one new tune from Kathryn and play music until Mum gets angry with us.
  • Go to Mass  and have that conversation about the homily and the priest and the crowd with anyone who wasn’t there.
  • Say the rosary with Grandad (random, I know, but it’s the small things in life).
  • Put on my wellies, go outside, walk around and pretend to herd the cattle or sheep.
  • Prepare suitable phrases for Dad that I did a good job on the herding.
  • Be a gap stopper for a few hours.
  • Play a session in a small pub.
  • Meet all my friends and neighbours.
  • Meet my aunts, uncles and cousins and catch up on anything I’ve missed.
  • Spend as much time as possible with Mum, Dad and Kathryn.
  • Do the shopping in Dunnes Stores.
  • Go to the Mc Donalds drive through in Roscrea with Kathryn ( it’s a long story).
  • Take a million pictures and threaten to make a powerpoint presentation as my present to my friends in Korea. Day 1……..
  • Tell stories that start with “When I was in Korea…….” with Alexa and Ali.
  • Do a few tourist things with Ali, Alexa and Kathryn.
  • Find my old hurl and bring it back to Korea.
  • Buy loads of nice things to bring back to Korea.
  • Drive “my car” around the yard.
  • Play cards.
  • Count in the New Year with my family.
  • Buy storybooks on Irish folk tales so I can read them to my students.
Leave a Reply

