A first for whatawaygook…….

I’d love to lie and say it’s my super personality or my astounding beauty but without a doubt, my best feature is my hair.  I treasure it  just a little and its gets a lot of attention in Korea.  Koreans want to touch it all the time, so I’ve decided to start charging for the privilege; “5,000won 주세요………”

Only problem is that in the summer, with the humidity it goes wwwwwhhhhisssssshhhhhhhhhh. I know you know that means that no amount of hair straightening will keep it in order.  I could keep it tied up all summer but that really isn’t an option so I decided to take the plunge and get a MAGIC STRAIGHT PERM.  It was a first for whatawaygook.  Before I tell you about the process, a magic straight perm is a perm where your hair stays magically straight for 5 or so months. 

I’m not going to lie.  I was terrified going in.  I’ve never had any dye or perm or anything other than shampoo in my hair so this was a huge step.  But I was a real champ and let my friend get one done a few months earlier and it turned out fine so I took the plunge.

Here’s how it went;

Friday May 3rd 2012;

11.30am- Went to hairdressers and got the message across that I wanted a Magic Straight Perm.  They said yes.  Excellent.  Already half way there. 

11.32am- My stuff is in a locker.  I’ve got my phone and a good book for this marathon.

11.34- “uuuuuhhhhh we washeeee hair??????” Said like a question but I’m fluent Konglish and know that this is meant as a statement.

11.40 (or so)- I’m settling in to the chair and they’re messing around with my hair.  It’s still red though so always a good sign.  AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH They are now putting  some crazy smelly thick grunge in my hair. 

11.56- I’m praying.  There’s a heater over my plastic bagged head.  They keep saying “uuuuhhhhhh 10 more minutes…” Please please don’t make my hair fall out……or go brown or any other ridiculous colour. 

12.06- “uuuuhhhhhh we washeeeee your hair????” Ya ok………………….

12.15- Wohoo!!!!!!!! It’s still red!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Woop surely they’re nearly finished?????

12.30- Now there’s two fellas drying my hair.  Getting a bit thirsty.

12.35- Now the boss is checking to make sure the hair is fully dry.  The other guy is finally gone to get me coffee.  About time too. He just asked the boss what the word for syrup is in English.  I told him it was ok syrup is syrup and it doesn’t matter cause I don’t want any!!!!!!!

12.36- Ok things look good the hair straighteners are on. 

12.38- Coffee in hand and they begin to straighten my hair.  Man, they only straighten like an inch of hair at a time.  This is going to take a while………………………………………………………………………………………

12.40- Wait…….. surely it should be illegal for two guys to be this good with hair straighteners.  Actually we’re in Korea so maybe not…………………………….

12.57- Wow! My hair is the business.  I tell him good job and prepare to get up from my chair. 

12.58- “UUUUUHHHHHH we washee your hair??????????????”

 “eeeeeeeehhhhhhh AGAIN?????????????????”

 Yes, no finishee, one more time.”

 Ya ok one for the road so,……………………………..

1.07- Damn whats he doing now??????  Putting lotions and potions and a liquid like thing in my hair.  If you’re doing this because I only said good job and not excellent job then I’ll…………………………….ah I don’t know what’s going on here…………

1.20- My hair is dry and straight.  He wants to know if I want cut……………”eeeeeeeeeeeeeehhhhhhhh NO!!!!!!!!!!!

1.25- I’ve been looking at my hair in every available surface since I left the hair dressers.  The 2 hours and 80,000 won I just spent are totally worth it……so far so good. 

Monday 9pm

I just washed my hair.  Had a little freak out and said the rosary while I was drying it but……………Wohoo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It’s still red and its straight!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Woop!

My advice, my friends to get a super straight perm immediately.  Cheap, cheerful and a sure way to make your hair look excellent this summer.

Leave a Reply

