Adventures of a sleepwalker.

This morning I woke up clutching one of my handbags.  Was I out last night? No.  Did I drink alcohol last night? No.  Was I guarding my millions? Definitely not.  It was just another thing I did in my sleep.  I wasn’t going to blog about my crazy (but amazing) sleepwalking skills but feel that I should totally share my adventures. 

I’ve always done things in my sleep.My mother puts it down to my “overactive” imagination. I only became aware of it when my sister (who I shared a room with at the time) told me the episodes of the night before. It always ranged from just having a conversation with her to actually getting up and beating her.  Yes, correct, sometimes I used to hit her in my sleep.  She’ll vouch for this when she reads it. 

Sleeping in other people houses is always tricky.  In Ireland, when I was younger, it was only ever my aunts or uncles houses but they too have their stories.  Like the times I would get out of bed, leave my room, walk to their room, stand in the doorway and tell them we needed bread, milk and cheese, then close the door walk back to bed and go back asleep.  Or so they tell me.  I never have any recollection of these thing until someone tells me.

 In recent years it has made me in to somewhat of a freak.  Before I left Ireland, I was preparing for a course exam with 2 other girls.  We booked a family sized hotel room for the night. Lovely.  Sunday morning, they look at me and it’s “that” look.  I knew what was coming.  So what had I done this time????? Seemingly, I had woken them with the sounds of my clawing at the window trying to get it open.  They asked me if I was going back to bed to which I replied “ok” and off I went back.  It scares me to think what would have happened had I actually managed to get out that window on the 3rd floor of the hotel and I’ve taken to putting suitcase the against windows/balconies since then. 

Then there was the Vietnam incident.  According to my friends, I had entertained them in my sleep by first sitting up, going to the table and playing a board game.  After I went back to “sleep”, they thought it was over only to have me get back up an hour later, his time to write post cards.  Did the post cards make any sense?????? None, damn not such a great skill. 

According to online research, people who sleepwalk as adults are shown to have “difficulties handling aggression” bad news for anyone who knows me (although totally not true in my case).  Although they also state that sleepwalkers wo continue sleepwalking from child hood is rare.   But on the up side it’s strongly linked to families, so a big thanks to Mum or  Dad for passing that my way.  

Of course, I could go on all day about  the things I’ve done in my sleep, (proudest of which was the time I got dressed head to toe and got back in bed).  These days, because I live alone, I only have the signs (clutching the handbag or being super sleepy the next day) to tell me that I may have been up and about the night before. 

Surprisingly enough though, any time I mention the words “sleep-over” to my friends, they never seem to want to stay.  Strange or what………?

5 thoughts on “Adventures of a sleepwalker.

  1. Remember you woke us cos your were screaming next cave tour in 5 mins , sorry for the delay folks. Next cave tour 5 mins

  2. I know that this is an old blog but I’m glad to see that I’m not the only one that gets to hear all about my nocturnal adventures! 🙂

  3. I know that this is an old blog but I’m glad to see that I’m not the only one that gets to hear all about my nocturnal adventures! 🙂 Oh, sorry, let me add a bit more (story for a story)! When I was 19, I decided to join the Air Force. Scared all of my flight mates by repeatedly standing at attention on my bed overnight, LOL! 🙂

Leave a Reply

